Stories BMW 7 Series Badge

Published on January 10th, 2014 | by Seán Ward


BMW’s Naming Scheme Explained

If you looked at the back of a BMW a few years ago, you’d have been able to tell what model it was and the engine under the bonnet with ease.

However, not only are there more BMW’s in production than ever before, but the badging doesn’t always represent what engine the car has.

Where as once a two-door 335i used to be a 3 Series Coupe with a 3.5 litre petrol, today the same model would be a 435i with a 3.0 litre petrol.

So here’s BMW’s model range, and what engines the badges really denote:

1 Series – Hatchback

2 Series – Coupe and convertible 1 Series

3 Series – Small saloon

4 Series – Coupe and convertible 3 Series

5 Series – Large saloon

6 Series – Coupe and convertible 5 Series

6 Series Gran Coupe – Four door variant of the 6 Series

7 Series – Largest executive saloon

X1 – Small SUV

X3 – Mid-sized SUV

X5 – Large SUV

X6 – Coupe style X5

About the Author

I love cars, love writing, love photography. If you've got an idea, drop me an email and I'd be happy to chat.

Back to Top ↑